Special Interest Group: Women in Information Management (WIIM)

View Only
  • 1.  Records Retention Review Strategy

Posted 09-09-2020 02:06

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Records Management world and would like to get some ideas/best practices as to how to revamp our records retention schedule and tackle our records retention review in the most efficient manner. Could y'all share any resources you find beneficial with this newbie? Open to your input, what has worked for you, what hasn't, lessons learned, resources, etc. There is a lot of great information out there! And I'm trying to come up with the best strategy to plan my work.  Thanks in advance for input.

Regards,

------------------------------
    Jessica Brown
    Records Manager
    Alaska USA

• 2.  RE: Records Retention Review Strategy

Posted 09-10-2020 10:34
    Here's some resources from AIIM:

https://www.aiim.org/Resources/Toolkits/Toolkit-List-Page
         A Toolkit, "How to Design, Develop, Deploy, and Maintain a Records Retention Program" 
         A Toolkit, "How to Develop, Deploy, and Maintain a Business Classification Scheme (BCS)"
         A Toolkit, "How to Determine the Right Type of Taxonomy for Your Business"

https://www.aiim.org/SearchPage?keyword=quick+study
         Quick Study, "Enterprise Content Management Quick Study"
         Quick Study, "Electronic Records Management Quick Study"
         Quick Study, "System and Information Inventory Quick Study"

Also, are you a member of the Records Managers group on the AIIM Community site?  Check out some of the conversations there:

https://community.aiim.org/communities/community-home/digestviewer/viewthread?MessageKey=031f7e52-a5d2-4dcc-aa10-93e4d5ebbac9&CommunityKey=334c807b-e1eb-45b1-8d95-57d3f5e9f714&tab=digestviewer#bm031f7e52-a5d2-4dcc-aa10-93e4d5ebbac9